Canister... please help with figuring out media

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Canister... please help with figuring out media

So... I just got my SunSun302 today! So excited. This is going to be for my 20 tall gallon riparium (1/3 air, 2/3 water) which will be heavily planted and stocked with Coral Red Pencilfish (when my LFS guy can get them!)

It didn't come with any media. Being new to this, I just used the media that my Fluval 306 came with when I set it up... so I guess now is the time to learn what media to get not only for the new SunSun but also for my Fluval if/when I need to replace it.

Fluval came with carbon and bio rings and sponges. (all are in use right now though I'm considering taking out the carbon and replacing with something else?)

SunSun just has the 3 cotton pads for each tray and that's it. LOTS OF ROOM for more media.

I'll take any and all suggestions (please keep in mind I'm new to this so treating me like a kid would be great)

THANKS!
    Gingerone's Tanks:
    55 Gal: Harlequin Rasboras x 20 , Panda Cory x 6 , Green Cory x 3 , Oto x 2 , BN Pleco, 3 Mystery Snails, MTS and Nerite x 4
    20 Gallon X-High: FW in process of becoming a Riparium
    Future Proposed Stocking: 15 Coral Red Pencilfish (if my LFS can get them!)

That sounds like it going to be a cool tank! I can't wait to see it

I set up my Aquatops (same thing) like this:

1st basket(bottom)-coarse sponges like this black one: http://www.drsfostersmith.com/produc...m?pcatid=25249

2nd basket- Filter floss or other fine mechanical media

3rd basket- Bio media, normally I have enough room in this tray for a media bag of crushed coral or carbon, whatever is necessary. Imo this basket needs one of those filter pads on it so no small chunks of bio media are sucked up by the impeller, and then the grid thing on top of that.
    __________________________________________________ _____
    Try not to be a man of success but a man of value. -Albert Einstein