Should I upgrade on lighting?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Should I upgrade on lighting?

Backstory: 48" Aquarium T5 HO Lighting Quad fixture. I am currently using only two bulbs (6700 Daylight, 54watts).

My tank:

48 inches long
    25 1/2 Tall
    -Substrate is 3 inches thick
    -space between water and light fixture is 3 1/2 inches

Does anybody know what my current light system is? Low, Med, High? I've seen the Hobby lighting chart but still can't figure out what light category my tank fits into.

*I would like to add 2 more bulbs (6700 daylight, 54 watts) which would make it 4 bulbs total.

My tank has injected CO2 and dose with dry ferts (modified EI).
    Please check out:

Forum Rules

Information about Duplicate Posts

Warnings, Infractions and Bannings

I'm no expert, but compared to my tank (same fixture, but 18" deep) I'd say it's either moderate to high. Your light definitely has more water to go through than mine. If you add more bulbs I'd say you'd definitely be in the high light category, but with ferts and CO2 that's not necessarily a problem

Comment

I am trying to go for "High Lighting" because I want to get some "red" color plants in my tank.
      Please check out:

Forum Rules

Comment

I've never done well with red-colored plants. I've tried two types of ludwigia and for both the leaves at the bottom all fell off, until it was a stick with some leaves on top. This time I have a few stems of red ludwigia doing alright, but only because they're right in front of the spraybar, so they bend over and the whole stem gets light I was double-dosing iron and it still didn't seem to help.

Comment

With 2 bulbs you are currently in the moderate range. Using 4 bulbs would actually be too much light; but could be done if you monitor your tank closely or even raise the fixture a few inches.