Fishless Cycling - Need Some Support

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fishless Cycling - Need Some Support

Alright guys, this is my first time doing fishless cycling. In the past I've used TSS and Fish In (before I knew, I swear!), so I need some help with this and will likely be pestering you all for help as I go.

55g tank
    1 canister filter, 1 sponge
    Temp: 84 F (to help speed it up)
    Planted
    Tap Water Reading: 0/0/0
    PH: 7.4-7.6

I added on Sunday night 3 teaspoons of ammonia. This brought it up around 2-4 ppm.

Tonight I tested and it's definitely down to 1-2 ppm. Tested for nitrites, no sign yet.

Should I bump the ammonia back up?
    ~Erin
    10g, 20g, 29g, 55g

Congratulations on cycling fishless this time!

When using pure ammonia, I will raise the ammonia into the 3-4 PPM range. Then wait for it to drop under 1 PPM before I add enough to again push it back up into the 3-4 PPM range. I also crank the heat as a warmer tank will help the bacteria to grow faster.

I wouldn't worry about nitrites for at least a week. It takes time for them to build up enough to be measurable.

Good luck!
    - Dena

All our dreams can come true if we have the courage to pursue them.
    Walt Disney

The only true wisdom is in knowing you know nothing.
    Socrates

Comment

Good luck Rae it can be a long road but very rewarding at the end and will give your plants a chance to get grown in and well rooted
      Never underestimate the power of a smile

Comment

Alright, thanks folks, that's the info I was looking for Dena, if I should let it drop under before redosing. I'll keep you guys updated if I have any more questions on this. So excited to have a good method this time, yet so anxious to get things set up!
        ~Erin
        10g, 20g, 29g, 55g

Comment

*flails*

Click image for larger version

Name:	P3130003.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	87.5 KB
ID:	137736

There's definitely purple in my nitrite test!
          Ammonia level is the same.