Volcano Shrimp (Opae Ula) Setup

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Volcano Shrimp (Opae Ula) Setup

so a member on FL got some Volcano Shrimp not to long ago and we chatted a bit and she may send me some once they start breeding... but I am not good at waiting lol... so last night i went to walmart and bought a 10g kit! I also bought a can of great stuff big cap filler (is this one the one everybody uses?) today I went to home depot and bought some lava rocks for $4.50 for 7lbs (my LPS charges $3.99/lb)

tonight I plan to start doing the lava rack wall after I get off work! and mixing the water once its setup (so not for a while)

now some quick questions... to silicone the wall to the glass what kind should/can i use? I am not sure my LPS have aquarium silicone (though I haven't checked petsmart)
    was the great stuff big gap filler the right one?

how much salt mix do i use for 10g to make it brackish (1.008-1.015 is ideal for their breeding)
    2.5g Betta tank (Rayne)
    2.5g Apple Snail tank (Silver)
    1.5g Saltwater MTS vase (tough little dudes)
    40g red ear slider tank (Kappa)
    "Normal is just an illusion. What is normal for the spider is chaos for the fly." -- Morticia Adam

I can't help with the salt ratios, but as far as silicone goes, you can use pure 100% silicone from the hardware store. Just make sure it has no additives and no mold retardants. You don't need to pay the high price for "aquarium" silicone.
    - Dena

All our dreams can come true if we have the courage to pursue them.
    Walt Disney

The only true wisdom is in knowing you know nothing.
    Socrates

Comment

okay awesome how long does it take to cure?
      2.5g Betta tank (Rayne)
      "Normal is just an illusion. What is normal for the spider is chaos for the fly." -- Morticia Adam

Comment

I give it 3 days to dry/cure; then drop into a bucket of water or fill tank for a week. This is how I resealed my 125G tank.
        - Dena