Angel eggs/fry rearing questions

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Angel eggs/fry rearing questions

So, the same paired that spawned a couple weeks ago spawned again today.

I am leaving the eggs in the tank for 24 hours and if I notice the eggs aren't white, I will be transferring them to a either a 5.5 or 10g tank with a seeded sponge filter. Now, my question is...

When should I set up the TOM TM1198 Aquarium Hatch N' Feeder Brine Shrimp Hatchery ? I've never used it before.

Here is the link to it: http://www.amazon.com/TM1198-Aquarium-F ... ery+kit%3F

Re: Angel eggs/fry rearing questions

I have a couple of those in tank hatcheries!

Brine shrimp take about 24 hours to hatch, on average. And the fry should be fed 24 hours after they go free swimming. To ensure that the BBS hatch, I start the batch about 12 hours before I expect the fry to go free swimming.

Knowing that the spawn occurred today, Thursday, October 18
    Estimated hatching will occur in ~48 hours, so Saturday, October 20
    Then another 5 days until free swimming, so next Thursday, October 25

Start the hatchery on next Wednesday, October 24th

First feeding should occur very late Thursday or Friday morning.

You may also want to set up a separate hatchery with 2 liter bottles as a backup, unless you have more than one of those hatcheries. Otherwise, your fry will go without food when you need to refresh the hatchery.
    - Dena

All our dreams can come true if we have the courage to pursue them.
    Walt Disney

The only true wisdom is in knowing you know nothing.
    Socrates

Comment

Thanks a bunch on the information and giving the exact dates as well.

Comment

You are welcome. I figured the dates would help get you started with the timeline. But always figure 2 days after spawning for the eggs to hatch and become wrigglers; and another 5 days after that for free swimming.

Good luck!
        - Dena

Walt Disney

Socrates

Comment

Hey,