Snail questions!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Snail questions!

Since I am new to the world of mystery snails, rather than post a thread every day asking a question, I figured I'd just post them all in one thread as I think of them. So for you mystery snail experts, please check back every now and then if you can

Today's installment features:

1. Do mystery snails sometimes hide and not move around? Sometimes I'll see mine tuck in their antennae and hang out in one spot. Does that mean someone was nipping at them, or are they just resting?

2. I'm assuming mysteries must produce more slime than nerites, and it's as a result of that, but I frequently notice sand stuck to them. Is that bad?

3. One of the small ones isn't moving around. I set him on top of the cucumber slice, but when the other one crawled (crawled? Is that the right word? Snail-ed?) off of it, it tipped sideways and the not-moving-one rolled off. He half stuck out his antennae, and later pulled them back in, and he's not completely closed up or completely hanging out of his shell, so I know he's still alive. I put a few pieces of algae wafer and shrimp pellet in last night too and he wasn't temped. Is there anything I can do to make him happy? I thought about hiding him under some plants in a dark part of the tank, but the lights turn off at night and that doesn't cause him to move around either so I don't think it would help. The other mystery in that tank is active, so it isn't anything related to the environment.

4. Besides algae wafers, shrimp pellets, cucumber, and zucchini, is there anything else you feed your mysteries?

Thanks for your help, and check back again for the next exciting installment