Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Big tank questions!

Ahoy hoy,

We've been thinking about getting the 120 at Petsmart - I'd rather find something on Craigslist, but because it's taller and shorter than most 120s, it happens to fit in the space where the 55 is now. A few questions:

1. I imagine that thing weighs a freaking ton. Even if my dad helps my boyfriend move it...is it possible for two men to carry a 120? My boyfriend plans to make a cart for it (just for transportation purposes) but there's steps leading down into my apartment (half underground) so some amount of carrying will be inevitable.

2. I'm trying to figure out how many fishies we'd be able to add. I'm not very good at stocking big tanks, since I've never had one The main goal of course is to be able to keep our angels. This is what is in the 55 now:

6 angels
    8 neons
    7 praecox rainbows
    4 platies (trying to get rid of them - take them! please!!)
    1 BN pleco

Would we be able to add more neons, and a few rainbows? We especially love seeing the neons school around the tank, so a big group of those would be fun. I'd like to up the rainbows too, just because I know they'd appreciate a bigger school. So if we had, for example:

6 angels
    12 neons
    10 rainbows
    1 BN pleco

Assuming one of you fine folks takes my platies (cough cough) Could we add another school? I'd like something red/orange...funny enough, when we first set up the tank all we could find was red/orange fish, and I made a thread on FL asking about blue fish. Now all we have is a tank of blue fish!! So once we get rid of the red/orange platies, I'd like a school of warm-colored fish. I really like longfin rosy barbs, and my LFS had some new ones called neon rosy barbs that were really cool. Could we add a school of those? So:

6 angels
    12 neons
    10 rainbows
    6-8 barbs
    1 BN pleco

Or would we only be able to get another school if we left our current schools the way they are?