This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Emersed plant journal

This may not be an aquarium, but it it involves plants for it for the most part. As some may already know, I have been growing aquatic plants emersed since BBA destroyed most of my tank a few months ago. While the setup I have going currently works out fine, it is taking up my work area in the basement. So, using the space I had above and below my 20 gallon I set up two humidity domes, each running a single 18" 17 watt T5HO with a 6500K bulb. I will be working on transferring the plants over the next few days after I find a bigger surge protector. I am a beginner with this, so this is bound to change a lot.

The Setup
    - Two single bulb 18" SunBlaster T5HO lights with a Nanotech reflector
    - SunBlaster humidity domes that have areas for the fixtures to sit on top
    - 1 airpump to move the water around
    - I will run them without the heaters to see what they maintain for temperature
    - Miracle Gro Organic Choice Potting Mix
    - Weekly changes of water using old tank water from the 20 gallon, gotta get the most out of the dry ferts

Current Plants
    - Alternanthera reineckii 'cardinalis'
    - Cryptocoryne wendtii 'green'
    - Hemianthus callitrichoides (baby tears)
    - Moneywort
    - Java moss
    - Fissidens moss
    - Ludwigia Repens

I am working on finding some other stem plants to grow in this, and will probably pick up some small amounts of other various mosses to grow. As for what I will do with all of it, some will go in my tanks, some may be given away or sold, and all of it is done for fun and keeping my mind occupied. In the end, it is just another project to learn from that I may be able to apply to my degree. I am open to any opinions on the setup.

Work in progress, and a complete mess.

Some of the plants from the update I did.

Re: Emersed plant journal

Looks awesome
    Information about Duplicate Posts

Comment