Wanna help me set up a tank?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wanna help me set up a tank?

Well, with all these discussions and pictures of saltwater tanks and corals, I think I'm gonna take the plunge and set up a saltwater tank!

I'm a complete noob when it comes to saltwater... So tell me everything you have to say about setting up a new tank!

Thinks I have:

20g long tank
    Penguin 200 filter
    Top fin 10 filter
    Heater (200w I think?)
    Black sand (probably wont use)

My LFS has a decent selection of saltwater stuff. They have unite a few fish and can order anything you want. They also have lots of live rock. What's a good price for live rock? Also, what's a good price on salt mix? They have it for about $21 for Instant Ocean for a 50 gallon mix bag. This seems really expensive to me, but I haven't shopped around at all for mix.

So what else would I need to get for the tank? Some kind of substrate I assume, maybe a power head or 2.

What kind of fish/inverts can I put in it?

I would like to add corals to the tank at some point so what would I need for that? Lighting wise?j

Thanks in advance for any help!

If your keeping corals I would highly recomend an RO unit. The one in Rouges cheap stuff thread is a great buy (and I will be getting one myself) I plan personally to just take the DI cartridge out so I dont have to worry about replacement, which actually may increase production of the unit slightly.

Def at least one power head but two would be prefered.

Heater seems good

You could either go with a sand or a rubble rock base, my friend at the LFS (who im working on convincing to join here) loves his tank with the rubble rock base. If you do all the rock you actually wont need the filters as the rock IS the filter.
    -Jim-

Originally posted by Albert Einstein
    If the facts dont fit the theory, change the facts
    Originally posted by Theodore Geisel